top of page

Trail-running on the SPOT


 

A title disclosure first. I haven't been running since I've injured my foot. And when I say I've injured my foot, I mean I have injured my foot FOREVER. No more running for me. Not in this lifetime. That is the reason for the title. Now to the story itself. It happened this last Saturday which was the day of the trail run held for the second year in my home town. As one of the organisers being a friend of mine who I go mountain biking A LOT (mountain biking being my go to sport since running is out of the question) and this friend of mine asked me to be a helping hand at the event. My help was in the form of a human sign on the trail as runners tend to be "blind" when they are in the "red zone". I know this from my own experience. The event takes place at the end of September and the organisers had bad luck last year with the weather as it was raining cats and dogs. Unfortunately this year wasn't all that better. It wasn't raining cats and dogs but there was light rain before, during and after the run. However, rain wasn't the worst thing, it was the first cold day after two months of summer temperatures. Nevertheless, the turnout was better than last year, but it would have probably been way larger if the weather cooperated. With all that said, the trail was slippery and tricky. Back to my role as a volunteer at the event. Standing on the spot where runners reached the top of the hill coming out of the forest gave me a nice perspective for taking photos of them. I was aware of that beforehand and took my X-Pro2 with me. I was reluctant to use the XF 55-200 as I am more of a prime lens shooter, but considering the circumstances it was the right choice. The funniest thing was that I had left one of my memory cards at home as I was downloading some photos the day before. So the slot 1 was empty. It took me a couple of minutes to change the settings according to the situation. Finally I shot the event with JPEGs that turned out quite good. I cannot say I am totally satisfied with the photos as the conditions were really bad, but it was a nice experience. If not for anything else doing the volunteer work always feels nice.

 


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page