top of page

Koala Voice baking at MC Pekarna


Koala Voice is a young Slovenian indie rock band from Kisovec. It is a group of friends having fun composing and playing music. They've first caught my attention at a festival two years ago. Back then I said to myself that I have to check out their gig in the near future. It took two years, and I have to say I am sad I haven't attended any of their gig any sooner. For a band as young as Koala Voice and for band members as young as they are, they outperform many older and more experienced bands. They are a band that was long needed in the Slovenian musical scene. Their front(wo)man Manca performs on stage as she's got years and years of experience. Her voice is like an air strike in the best possible way. Not to mention all the other band members. The guitarist Domen Don Holc came on stage dressed smart with sunglasses on, but at the end he was all unbuttoned as he played his guitar with a real mojo. Then there was Tilen the bass player. Damn he was great not just as the bass player but also as a performer as he was all over his part of the stage. And Miha behind the drums was insanely loud, even adding the vocals to some songs. The Koalas played at MC Pekarna Maribor which is some kind of an alternative place for gigs, performances, exhibitions and many more things. It was my first time attending a gig there. When I entered the venue, I was a bit surprised. The place is relatively small, wide and short if you know what I mean. However, when the siren signalled the start of the concert and the crowd filled the place it looked way better. All my doubts were crushed when Koalas entered the stage. All four members added their part in what was energy packed, emotions fuelled unforgettable concert. I have seen many bands and musicians perform, but this was among the best. Hats off to the Koalas. Besides the Koalas being fantastic, I have to add that the venue was properly lit and sound equipment also played an important part. All in all an impressively perfect event.

I have to add one more thing. The audience sensed the immense amount of energy the Koalas have discharged and was filled with it, we expressed the gratitude with cheering. The Koalas rewarded us with coming back for an encore twice. Manca has let us know that they rarely do that so obviously they enjoyed the gig as much as we did.

 

Photography related: My first time at MC Pekarna, so it was an unknown territory. An X-Pro2 with my primes (12mm, 35mm, 90mm) were my weapons of choice. I cannot say that I am satisfied with the results. I know I lack practice in environment like this. However, I did manage to take a few keepers. Take a look:

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page