top of page

Early, but late. But at the end, right on time.


This past Sunday started as any other weekend day. I woke up early, hence the first third of the title of this article. After my standard routine getting ready, I grabbed my X-Pro2 with a Fujinon 55-200 and a couple of spare batteries and headed downstairs where my trusty hiking companion was already waiting for me. His name is York and is a beautiful Standard Schnauzer who loves an early morning hike or any other hike for that matter.

Our usual weekend morning hike is just a bit over 7km long and takes us along the local stream, through the forest up the hill and down, under the railway, between the fields and over the railway back to the top of the hill. From the top, there is a nice descent through the forest into the city centre and back home.

It usually takes us an hour of fast hiking, but this time I had my camera with me so we stopped many times and the pace wasn't the main point of the hike. The morning was a bit cold, just a pinch under zero degrees C, but the Sun was up and it was gorgeous. Plenty of fog and mist in the air. Since York is used to a high pace I had to think in advance where and what I want to take photos of. Of course I stopped when I spotted something interesting, but it isn't easy to do so with a dog who wants to move. I always have to have in mind where I can unleash him and where I can't. Places where there is a slightest possibility of running into any kind of fourlegged wild animal like a fox, a deer, a rabbit is not a safe place to have York off the leash. So a hike with York and a camera is always interesting.

One thing in particular was in my mind to take a photograph of and that was a lonely tree in the middle of a field with the Sun rising behind it. I have spotted this place way back and many times the scene was just gorgeous, but I was usually without my camera or something else happened. This time wasn't perfect either. I was late, hence the second third of the title.

I was late. I was late for what I had in my mind. Well, may times things doesn't work out as planned. What do you do? I usually try to use the conditions or situation the best I can and adapt the plan. I think it worked out pretty well, hence the third third of the title :-)

Walking through the forest one can easily find interesting photo opportunities. It may be just a little mushroom hiding under the fallen Autumn leaves or leaves frozen in the icy puddle.



On this usual trail we normally do not meet any people. However, we do meet variety of animals. Having mounted a telephoto zoom lens on my camera it was an excellent way of dragging distant objects closer. The first was without a doubt my York with winter fur style. We normally do not groom him before the winter so that the coat keeps him warm(er).

Next was a pack of sheep. This was a bit of a surprise as I haven't seen them yet here on this spot.

And what I was most happy about was a fact that the birds which are mostly scared away by just a sound of a leaf falling to the ground weren't paying attention or were too focused on searching for food, that I had all the time in the world to take a photo of them. 200mm still isn't a choice of weapons for this kind of work, but I was satisfied with the outcome.

Birds aside, we met another two very interesting guardians. Each protecting his domicile with all his commitment.


Sometimes an entrance into the forest just looks so photogenic that you have to take a shot.

And the forest itself provides plenty of joy just being there not to mention taking a photo of it.

I use this 55-200mm lens often, but I take it off all the time. Sometimes because it is not fast enough, sometimes because it is not wide enough, sometimes a need nicer bokeh, but then again it surprises me times and times again with exactly these attributes. This time it was the same.


56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page