top of page

A trip to Portugal - Mogadouro and Porto


I've spent the first week of February 2018 in Portugal. It is country far far away. The trip to Mogadouro in the North-East of the country started on 4th February 2018. As we all think of Portugal as a warm or even hot country this was a bit of a shock. I have checked the weather forecast and I knew what temperatures to expect. There were no surprises there.

The surprise happened when i entered my hotel room. With temperatures of around 12 degrees C in my room it wasn't cosy. So I spent as little time as possible in my room.



During the week in Mogadouro I have visited and experienced a lot. From all the necessary local attractions with Mogadouro Castle ruins, town hall and Archeological Museum to Miranda donkey farm in Atenor, the Internationa Douro Natural Park and a beautiful small bordering town of Miranda do Doruo.

At the end of the week, to be precise on Friday morning I have set off to Porto. I have spent the last day before departure wandering the streets of Porto and Vila Nova de Gaia. Of course I haven't missed the compulsory Porto wine tasting(s) :-)

I loved Mogadouro as it is a nice little town, clean and located in a really beautiful landscape. However, Porto has left way bigger impact on me. In general, the whole Douro valley from the Braganca region where the River Douro enters Portugal to Porto where the river meets Atlantic ocean.

My memories:

Douro Valley through the bus window

Long exposure shot of Mogadouro from the castle

In front of the Mogadouro town hall

Mogadouro castle ruins in the morning

A tree dressed up in crochet napkins

Church in the bordering town of Miranda do Douro

Another morning in Mogadouro

Mogadouro Castle ruins in the morning blue

Miranda donkey in Atenor

Gorgeous eagle owl in the International Douro Natural Park

Mogadouro streets in the morning fog

Finally - Porto

Sao Bento rail station in Porto - impressive

Gustave Eiffel’s Don Luis I bridge from Vila Nova de Gaia. Unforgettable scene...

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page